Farnworth CE Controlled Primary School > Foundation Stage

Glitter Words

Our teachers are Mrs Highcock and Miss Fee
The children in Reception follow the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum (EYFS).

There are four themes in the EYFS:


A Unique Child: This theme is about how children develop: they are all different and their learning needs and styles are unique too.  Positive relationships and good communication are vital so that we can plan for individual learning needs.  Children need to learn about risks and safety, how to make good choices, and how to stick to boundaries.  They do best when their all their physical and emotional needs are met.


Positive Relationships: This theme is about children learning to manage their feelings and build friendships.  We will respect all families and aim to develop a positive two-way relationship with parents and carers.  We will support, listen to and work with children to help them learn.


Enabling Environments: This theme is about how we plan for and check on each child’s progress.  We will involve parents and the local community.  We will ensure that inside and outside spaces at the setting are safe, interesting and engaging.  We will support children when they move on, working as a team to help your child succeed.


Learning and Development: This theme is about how children learn – through play and exploration, with adult support for each individual.  We will encourage the children to develop their imaginations, to get actively involved in learning and to make decisions.  We will also develop their creative and critical thinking, balancing the need for both children and adults to decide what learning should take place.

Early Learning Goals (ELGs)

By the time they reach the end of the Early Years Foundation Stage, most children should have reached and some may have gone beyond these Goals.  Children work towards these Goals through the Six Areas of Learning which are:


*      Personal, Social and Emotional Development: This covers areas such as building confidence, concentration, independence and respect.

*      Communication, Language and Literacy:  including developing speaking and listening, and beginning to read and write.

*      Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy: This includes number work, mathematical ideas and thinking.

*      Knowledge and Understanding of the World: This area is about children investigating and thinking about their place in the world.

*      Physical Development: This concentrates on developing children’s physical skills and understanding.

*      Creative Development: This area is to do with building your child’s imagination.
If you require any further information please contact your child's class teacher.

Forgotten password?
Having trouble logging in?