The Priory Parish CE Primary School  

... > Governors
School Governors
School governors are volunteers drawn from different parts of the community, such as parents, the staff, the local authority (LA) and the church.  This helps to ensure that the governing body has sufficient diversity of views and experience.

The governing body has a range of duties and powers and a general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement including setting targets for pupil achievement, managing the school's finances, making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based, appointing staff and reviewing staff performance and pay and many more.
The governing body has considerable discretion as to how to discharge its responsibilities but is required to constitute itself in line with the regulations and to appoint a chair and vice chair.  The governing body may delegate certain of its responsibilities to certain governors or committees of governors, although in general, it is not compelled to do so.
Our school has fourteen governors;
Mr John Wilson, appointed by the Parochial Church Council (P.C.C.) which is the governing body of our local church, Christ the King. He will be the Chair of Governors this year.
Rev. Dallas Ayling who is a governor due to her position as Rector of the Parish and who is the Vice Chair of governors.
Mr Mike Blaylock, appointed by the P.C.C.
Mr Brian Waring, appointed by Chester Diocese
Mrs Andrea Renner who is a parent and is appointed by Chester Diocese
Councillor Ann McLachlan, appointed by the Local Authority
Ms J. Murphy, parent governor
Mrs L. Hanley, parent governor
Mrs Lisa Brannagan, staff governor
Mrs Sue Gurney, staff governor
Mr Peter Faragher, headteacher and staff governor
There are currently three vacancies for Foundation Governors.  
Forgotten password?
Having trouble logging in?